About me: Harry, developer at Bulb — Bulb Community

About me: Harry, developer at Bulb

I'm Harry and I'm a software engineer. I've been at Bulb for about 6 months.

In my previous life, dispite having started to teach myself to code while at university, I worked in the world of finance for the first few years of my career before making the jump and working for a number of tech startups.

At Bulb we work in cross-functional teams we call "Pods" meaning we have a varirty of different roles from designers, testers, researchers and engineers working closely together.

I'm part of the "Member Pod" who are responsible for the Bulb Account website and mobile app. Our mission is to make it easy and intuitive for our members (you) to manage your Bulb account. This could involve submitting meter readings, viewing your statements or managing payment settings.

Recently I've been working on a feature that allows our ex-members, or those with no recurring payment method set up, to top up their accounts with a one-off payment. I'm also working on some improvements to the payments and statements pages adding suggestions for helpful actions our members could take to best keep their account shipshape.

What I like about working at Bulb

There are countless interesting challenges to solve especially with the rapidly changing face of the energy industry. The growth in the use of electric vehicles, renewable energy, widespread smart metering and battery storage needs some really clever tech to bring it all together and make the most of these developments.

In my free time I enjoy travelling to places where there are mountains and, depending on the season, skiing down them or cycling up them.

Comments

• Hi @Harry at Bulb - out of interest (as a fellow software dev), what does the Bulb backend run on? I know you use GraphQL, React on the front end and are hosted on Google, but could you tell us anything else about the technology stack/tooling or your methods of working?