A grid carbon intensity tracking tariff

Hello Bulb!

I recently joined as private customer; very happy with service so far! Thanks.

From a work perspective (I’m an engineer at Arup working on building systems), I would like to set up a trial with a utility using the National Grid Carbon Intensity Predictor API.

I imagine a tariff that fluctuates on the half hour aligned with the National Grid reported emissions. The building control system would then adjust power consumption to follow the National Grid 48 look ahead prediction. New website and API published Sept 2017 http://carbonintensity.org.uk/

Are flexible tariffs in Bulb’s pipeline? With the right client and contract would Bulb consider doing an early trial in 2018?

Interested in what others from the community think of this? Anyone like to see their workplace adjust power consumption to match the grid carbon intensity.

From a renewable energy perspective I think this supports the 100% renewables status Bulb already has:

e.g.

“All tariffs are 100% renewable; Bulb only buys renewable electricity on the wholesale market 3 months in advance to get the best prices; the ‘new carbon intensity tracker’ is also 100% renewable; the tracking feature supports better grid management which helps everyone on the grid get to 100% renewables faster”

Michael

@Mtrousdell

Thanks for getting in touch.

The trial sounds interesting, I do not entirely see the benefit for a 100% renewable tariff as the carbon intensity would always say 0%

I think we’d have to be clear on the benefit to our members if we did participate in the trial too.

Another thing is that we won’t be installing smart meters until the middle of 2018 so we’d not be able to run a trial until we have a strong sample size of smart meter data.

Cheers,
Rob

I do not entirely see the benefit for a 100% renewable tariff as the carbon intensity would always say 0%