Easy DIY gas central heating fixes.

With all the drama during this recent cold spell I thought to start a thread with some easy DIY fixes, so hoping others will contribute.

For starters:
During this cold spell if you find the central heating will not fire up then check the condensate pipe particularly if it is on an outside wall. If it has frozen then the boiler may not fire up. To fix get a couple of jugs of hot water and pour over the pipe to thaw it. Much cheaper to check this before you pay for call out charges as it only takes a couple of minutes.

Disclaimer: I am not a gas engineer, and will not be held responsible if you scold yourself attempting the above. :slight_smile:

What a good idea for a thread.

Just an addition to your comment:

During this cold spell if you find the central heating will not fire up then check the condensate pipe particularly if it is on an outside wall. If it has frozen then the boiler may not fire up. To fix get a couple of jugs of hot water and pour over the pipe to thaw it. Much cheaper to check this before you pay for call out charges as it only takes a couple of minutes.
Once you've thawed out the pipe, you may have to reset/restart the boiler. This is different on all boilers but modern ones tend to have a power switch that you can hold down to turn it on, and then again to turn it back on. Older ones may require power cycling via other means (isolation switch or similar).

Bleeding your radiators can make a big difference, especially if they haven’t been done for a while.

Be aware that after bleeding the system, you may need to increase the water pressure in the system. Most modern boilers have an inbuilt filling loop, and older ones tended to have this separate. Familiarise yourself with the setup of your system before you bleed out the air, otherwise your boiler may shut off due to low water pressure with no knowledge of how to increase it again.