Extortionate cost for December 2021-January 2022

So I’ve recently bought a one bedroom flat and it uses storage heaters, electric hob, washing machine and dishwasher. I have no gas to pay and it’s all just electric.

Bear in mind I only completed mid November I knew my first couple of bills would be figuring how what I’m actually using compared to estimates and I’m new to submitting meter readings etc (now have had a smart meter installed but yet to have my first bill since said installation).

On 20th December 2021 I received a bill for £60.94 which I thought was amazingly low and expected it would increase the longer I’ve been here and utilised things more.

However for the period 20th Dec to 20th Jan, I received a bill for £350.25!

How can I possibly be using such an extortionate amount of electricity!! I just wonder if something somewhere is going wrong as I can’t believe I could even use so much!

Has anyone else had any issues with extortionate billing which seems to have jumped dramatically since their last bill?

Hi @HuddAMP0712 :wave:

Thanks for getting in touch and sorry to hear about the issues you have had with your bills.

Looking through your account, it looks like that bill was so high due to readings we had from you on the 14th of Jan. The December bill that you had for only £60 was an estimated one, so it’s likely we underestimated your usage for that period, meaning that when we had readings through on the 14th, we billed for that usage that was unaccounted for, meaning it was higher than a typical bill would be.

If we assume that the readings you gave are correct, I think the best thing to do would be to wait until your first smart meter bill comes through. If the usage is much less than the one for last month, then it may be that the old meter was faulty or there was an issue with the readings. In that case we can see what we can do to correct that previous bill.