Switching accounts over

Hi there, do I need to let my current energy supplier know about the switch and cancel the account or will this be done automatically?

Take a look at this help article from the knowledge base.

Your opening reading will be sent by Bulb to your previous supplier, who will then handle the closure of your account.

There’s lots of other useful articles in the knowledge base that will answer most of your other questions, if you have any.