Transferring solar p.v. registration for FiT

We have solar photovoltaic panels installed, and are registered for FiT with n.power, our current supplier. My understanding is that it is normal to be registered with the supplier, but I do not know if this is mandatory. I am no expert, but was told that not all energy suppliers are involved in FiT: are you?

We have also been advised, some time ago, that it is technically possible to transfer the registration, but that this tends to be problematic. Do you have experience in doing this?

Hi @jeremy

A Feed in Tariff is actually similar to a normal energy tariff, except roles are reversed. You provide the energy and the energy company pays you for it. Everyone who has a Feed in Tariff will be signed up with a supplier like this.

It’s very possible to change your FiT, again it’s pretty similar to just changing your normal tariff. You contact the supplier you would like to switch to and they’ll help you switch.

Bulb doesn’t currently do a FiT, but it’s high up on our To Do list. Once we’ve got that sorted out you will be able to switch your FiT to us.

Hope that helps,

Will

Doesn’t quite answer the question though. Do you have to have you FiT contract with the same firm as your supplier?

@angusg no, you don’t need to have your FiT with the same supplier as your electricity and gas.

I am thinking about installing Solar panels, and I am a new Bulb customer. Please tell me Bulb does the FiT now? Thanks

@jeremy I have been wanting to speak to someone who has Solar installed already. Be great if we could have a chat?

Hi @nazrul! Bulb isn’t a Feed in Tariff (FiT) licensee at the moment, however, it’s completely fine to have one supplier manage your FiT readings and payments, whilst another manages your ‘import’ supply from the grid - ie. Bulb.