Usage and bill not matching

Tried using the online chat for answers to my questions and didnt get much clarity with customer service.

My usage price is very different from the bills I have been receiving for the past 2 months.
My usage says £36 but they charged me over £100 last month and £70 this month.
Do not understand this at all, the figures dont match or make sense on my bill and I was told just to ‘ask an electrician’ to look at my meter if I think it’s wrong.

I was away for 2 weeks and my bill is higher than when I’m not away.

What is your “usage price”? Do you mean the amount you pay monthly by direct debit? It’s normal for this to not match any particular bill, since it’s intended to be the average of your 12 month usage.

Are your bills estimated? If you’ve been away and not been able to submit a meter reading, then your bill will be a guess and of course it’s impossible for your energy supplier to know unless you less them via a meter reading.

I have a usage price and monthly pay price. So I pay £35 a month and Bulb have put my usage per month to be £36. But charged me £70.

I was away for 2 weeks (which was in between my monthly bill period so does not affect my bill dates or meter readings) and all meter readings have been given so there is no estimation because I have been submitting readings.

1 Like

Sounds like everything is working as expected and you’re simply misunderstanding how things work. As I said the “usage per month” at £36 is your average for the year. It wont match any one bill, because your bills will be high in the winter (due to heating) and low in the summer. The point of the average is to even it all out rather than you having bills that fluctuate with the weather. You’ll almost certainly never get a bill for £36.

To learn more about how energy suppliers work, see: https://help.bulb.co.uk/hc/en-us/articles/115003405632-How-Bulb-charges-for-energy-usage

2 Likes