What happened to the old forum?

I have been posting on here for 2 years but when I logged on yesterday the whole forum has changed since I posted a couple of months ago and it required me to re-register as a ‘new member’! What’s going on?

You should not have needed to re-register as users were migrated (as it looks like yours was from the registration date), but a new forum has been talked about for a very long time; it just finally happened:

2 Likes

Thanks. I don’t know why they didn’t ‘migrate’ me. By now I should be getting senior member privileges.

What senior member privileges do you have in mind?

I’m pretty sure that even if they migrated the content and profile, our trust level here will depend on interaction on the new forum, so we start from scratch

Well the ability to make an unrestricted number of posts would do for starters. I have been on here for 2 years and my previous account eradicated and forced to start again. It would appear that others have escaped this extinction.

that’s interesting - I see your profile is hidden too. Did you do that intentionally?

When you started using this site, did you try to log in, or just sign up? I am sure I logged in using my old credentials and was matched to my profile and historic content - but I’m still a regular user here.

I don’t know what your account apparently wasn’t migrated, but in terms of member privileges you’ll need to review the Discourse trust levels.

I’d have thought you ought to be TL1 by now, meaning you have no restrictions on the number of posts you can make.

1 Like

Same here. I logged into the new forum using my standard Bulb account details, just like I did with the old forum. I’ve never had to create a forum-specific account, it just uses my Bulb customer account.

As far as I’m aware all content and accounts were migrated.

2 Likes