What would you do if you had access to our API?

Hi everyone,

I’m a software engineer at Bulb and I’d love to get your feedback on APIs :computer:.
We could consider making some REST APIs available to members, it’s a request we’ve heard before. In order for us to prioritise this work, we need to understand the use cases and how valuable it would be for you.

So, some questions I have for you are:
1- What would you use a REST API for?
2- Why would you prefer that to using our app?
3- Why would you use our API rather than your car’s API?

Feel free to tell us as much as possible!

Thank you so much for joining this community and helping us build a better experience :blush:.

Amina.

3 Likes

Thanks for finally considering creating Bulb API.
Smart meters becomes “normality” today and most of things are accessible through our mobile phones.
1 and 2. Personally I would use API to pull my usage data to display them the way I want it in my smart home environment (Home Assistant). I could create daily, weekly and monthly notifications about my usage, notifications when price and standing charge goes up (or hopefully down). Also, most importantly, save the energy by actively monitoring it and so much more (things I am not even aware of yet).
I know some of that I can get through app or whatever, but again… users could do all that the way they want it. My IHD is so basic, it is pointless using it. It is not easy to replace it and battery is weak, meaning it has to be permanently plug in to mains.
3. Even if I could get my toaster’s API, I will use it. :wink:

2 Likes

The whole point of ‘Smart’ anything is connectivity.

For me that means using APIs to have access to my own data ( Usage) + Pricing signals so that I can use the tools of my choice:

Analytical tools such as dropping it into a time series database

For Control open tools such as Openhab is the software of choice.

Where ever I can I avoid proprietary hubs, apps APIs anything since they are ultimately deadends.